seeing beyond

red-apple

I’ve felt very much like Jonas the last six months or so.  If you don’t know who that is, you make me sad.  Jonas is the protagonist from The Giver, one of my all-time favorite books.  He lives in a distopian society that has controlled and witheld from the citizens for generations.

One day, Jonas sees a red apple…which doesn’t seem like a big deal, but it is, considering everyone is genetically altered to be colorblind.  Jonas is different and is selected for a special and honored position.  With The Giver, Jonas sees the world through a new set of eyes.  Everything he thought to be true was upturned.  His family, friends, education, community, and system.  Nothing is as he thought and he’s at a loss with no one to turn to but The Giver.

My life hasn’t been that dramatically changed as Jonas’s was, but adulthood has certainly rocked my naive view of the world.  I plan to spend the month of February focusing on my experience “seeing beyond.”  For my sake and maybe for those of you out there trying to figure out this adulting thing too.

Leave a Reply

