come at me bro.

Today is my last day of undergraduate classes.  weird.  I never thought this day would come soon enough and now that it’s here, I’d be okay with sticking around for a little while longer.  I’ve been having those strange, reflective moments a lot the last week…this is the last chapel…this is the last time I’ll sit in a class with these people…this is the last time I have to open this dumb textbook!  It’s the little things in life, people.

I’ve been doing what I can to take advantage of the memory making moments with friends, connect with that teacher or classmate instead of sticking in headphones, or go to that one last event.  There are so many things that I will miss here and it seems so surreal that I’ll be walking through the arch in a week’s time.  crazy.

I know what last year was like for me and let’s just say I was a hot mess.  I couldn’t control the liquids pouring out of my eyes.  It was awful.  Do I even want to think what it’ll be like now that I’m graduating myself?  nah, not really.  If chapel was any sort of glimpse of next week, I don’t want to go there…all the emotions.  too. much. to. handle.

You best believe I will be making the most of next week.  So many memories.  Spontaneous spurts of song and dance.  late night/early morning star gazing.  lawn golf at all hours of the day…or night.  fire.  ice cream runs.  WalMart runs.  Rich dinner table conversations.  Late night chats.  sleepovers.  movies nights.  maybe some studying thrown in there…but honestly, I’m not worried about anything I have going on next week.  I did the brunt of the work this week.

It’s bittersweet.  leaving college.  I mean, I’m glad to be done with homework, but that’s just a small part of college.  The connections formed, real-life knowledge learned, and memories made are really what matters to me.  There was a point in my life where I questioned why I was at school.  I could do what I wanted with my life without paying tens of thousands of dollars in tuition for it…let me just say that the investment was well worth it.  Believe you me.

I don’t have much else to say except next week will be rich and rough and rewarding all at the same time.  Come at me bro.

Leave a Reply

