a letter for you.

For those of you that don’t know, I have signed on to be a short-term missionary with The Bridge after graduation in May.  I sent out some letters mid-December and they may have gotten lost in the midst of all the Christmas cards and traveling that occurred so I figured I’d post it here.

Dear friends and family,

katrin-turbanGraduation is just around the corner and I have been blessed enough to join a ministry in Storm Lake for the next chapter of my life.  I’ve been involved with The Bridge for over a year as an intern, volunteer, and Summer VISTA.  Though a missionary position is a new experience for me, I feel called to stay and serve the community in this capacity starting in June.

Storm Lake is a rockin’ place to live.  It’s opened my eyes to the world…in small town, Northwest Iowa of all places.  It’s the new home for African, Asian, Latino, and Micronesian families.  The nations have converged in Storm Lake and I get to be a part of it.  The Bridge helps adults adjust to life in America with a food program, job placement, and language classes.  They transport kids to VBS, merchant movies, and local schools for free lunch, as well as facilitate Bible studies, and an after school program during the year.

Volunteering with The Bridge has had its ups and downs but overall, it has been wonderful.  I have grown so much in the last year as a person.  I have been surrounded by godly couples that act as mentors to me.  I have learned so much about ministry and service while living in Storm Lake.  I’m so excited that I get to continue all of these great relationships and experiences.

??????????My position at The Bridge would be one of support.  I will serve as an administrative assistant in the office as well as continue to help with the Food Ministry and Youth programming   I will take on some of the communications and correspondence responsibilities to relieve the base directors.  I will also help coordinate volunteers and plan special events such as a fundraising banquet and youth summer camps.

nyaoop-crochetWould you be willing to join me in my Storm Lake Shenanigans? I’m going to need prayer…lots of prayer.  Life as a support-raising missionary is very different from the comfortable late-night life as a college student.  I will be challenged and tested in faith and everyday life and will definitely need some intercession to the Big Guy.  Would you help a sister out by joining my prayer team?

And some funding…because as frugal as I may be, I still need some money to live on.  Thankfully, God has provided housing for me but I am still looking to raise support for living expenses for a year and a half worth of service in Storm Lake.  Would you join my financial support team for my time in Storm Lake?   

If you would like to join my prayer team, please email me at hannah@thebridgeofstormlake.com.  If you would be willing to partner with me financially, please visit https://christforthecityinternational.cloverdonations.com/storm-lake-iowa/ and select my name from the drop down menu.  I would be eternally grateful.  Thank you for having a significant role in my life.

Bridge logoPeace and blessings this Christmas season,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

