connection…it’s a beautiful thing.

I can’t sleep so I decided to write a post…because at this point, it seems like the most logical thing to do.

I love a good chat. I’ve had several in the last week or two that I’ve really appreciated. There’s something about two people sitting down, looking each other in the eyes and talking that gets me. No electronic devices. No distractions. No homework. No prior obligations. No pressing plans in the back of your mind. No interruptions. Just two people chatting it up and being real with each other. It’s a beautiful thing.

I enjoy the connection that occurs. I enjoy reading nonverbals. I enjoy looking at people. I enjoy investing in lives.

As a senior communications major, I’ve developed a deeper sense of appreciation for interactions this year. I’ve learned so many theories of why we do what we do and how our brains work. I’m able to explain my thoughts and actions. I’m able to apply it to my life…and much to their dismay, my friends’ lives.

I never thought I would get to this point, but I’m here. It’s happened. I’d rather talk in person than text someone. I’d rather call them then send a quick message. I’d rather see them face to face than Facebook them. I’m game for old school communication. I like notes. I like letters. I like road tripping to visit and spontaneous knocks on the door.

I’m annoyed with the pressures of social media. I’m frustrated with always feeling so busy. I think it’s dumb that friends hesitate to talk about their struggles because we look too busy for them. I am sick of the distractions and pointless junk I view instead of edifying, meaningful content.

I want to read novels, not newsfeeds. I want to share stories instead of statuses. I want to create instead of constantly consume. I want to be real instead of rigged. And that’s what I intend to do. By limiting online access. By seeking people out. By managing my time. By being open.

Leave a Reply

