“This is one doodle that can’t be undone, Homeskillet”

peace corpsI applied for the Peace Corps today.  I’ve been talking about it for several months but I finally sat down and took the time to complete the application.  I submitted it.  This DOES NOT mean I’ve signed my life away.  Not even close.  The application was the easiest part of the process.  Now I have to fill out a medical history form, land an interview, and pass the medical exam before I go anywhere…and that’s only if I get accepted as a Peace Corps Volunteer (PCV).

Now, I play the waiting game.  I’m waiting to hear back on a PC Ambassador position at BV.  I’m waiting to hear if I get an interview and for an invitation to a country with a job description attached.  This could take three months or it could take 5 years…It all depends on if they like me and my compatibility with the program in a specific country.

I’ve done my fair share of research on the Peace Corps and have a good understanding of what it takes to be a PCV.  ‘all should do some research too so I don’t feel like I’m scaring all the people I care about by applying to something I’m really excited about.

Leave a Reply

