the little things.

I haven’t posted in quite some time but I think I’m okay with that. The last three weeks haven’t been awesome and I finally have a decent topic to write about. Today was a great day.

Some of the VISTAs went lawn golfing for the first time in their sad little lives. It was wonderful. We were able to laugh at/with each other, leave our mark on BV’s campus…literally, and I could show off this school that I have come to love.

I’m surrounded buy several great, godly couples this summer. I had three conversations with six awesome people tonight and I’m thankful these relationships can continue after the summer is over.

I have awesome friends who write to me and are patient enough to wait for my responses. There are two letters in the mail and a package on it’s way this week. Hopefully that makes up for my lapse in writing.

I had some great conversations tonight at food distribution with my fellow VISTAs. It wasn’t the typical, “Hannah, since you hate everything that brings joy to people, what DO you like?” type of conversation. It was deeper than that and thought provoking and honest. I truly appreciated it. We sat on the counters and laid on top of people, ahem, and ate leftover ice cream cake and discussed life’s big questions…and some of the smaller ones too.

20140728-230429-83069443.jpg
After getting off work early, I sat on the front porch and enjoyed the beautiful weather. To further take advantage of it, Howard, Shirley, Krislyn and I roasted marshmallows and made s’mores. Howard and Shirley are wonderful…just friends, but still great. They make my heart smile. I can’t wait to be old with the love of my life. I’m sure young love is fine and dandy but I’m looking forward to the old years too.

The laughter, the chats on the counters, sitting around the fire, and the weird looks. It’s these small moments that matter to me. With the strange memory that I have, I can almost guarantee that these are the things I will remember about this summer and I’m so thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

