it’s a jolly holiday with Howard.

It was a long afternoon.  There isn’t much to say about that.  It felt good to sit down and eat after being on my feet for most of the afternoon/evening. 

Since I don’t have much to say about today, I’ll share about my weekend.  It was wonderful!  My placement this summer couldn’t be any better.  I get to hang out with a sweet old man all summer.  For those of you who know me well, this is like a dream come true!  😉

Howard and I spent Saturday morning weeding the garden.  I know what clover, crabgrass and dandelions look like.  I’m sure there were more weeds than that but I kept to those three so I didn’t destroy his plants.  After weeding, he took me out for lunch and ice cream in his 1964 powder blue Mustang convertible.  Oh my word, it was wonderful…and my first convertible ride.  (MNM, you would have loved it!)

Sunday was even better.  I went for a walk and then Howard took me to see his rockin’ classic car collection.  Nine beautiful convertibles…no trucks…but that’s okay.  We went cruisin’ around the lake in a 1962 red Pontiac Tempest.  This post doesn’t even come close to sharing my excitement with you.  Talk to me about it in person and my entire demeanor lights up.  

I don’t sound real excited about it here, but it was a great weekend.  I baked cookies and banana bread, made some poor man’s vegetarian jambalaya (not the tastiest concoction I’ve ever created), and planted my pineapple.  I was telling Anne today, living with Howard is the perfect placement for me this summer.  I honestly couldn’t think of a better setup as I served at The Bridge.  I come home from work and hangout with him and his friends.  We can bond over his classic cars and he’ll eat my experimental recipes.  He doesn’t judge me for spending my entire morning on the front porch reading while the flies and wind attack me.  He supports my love of letters and my quirky pineapple growing thing but thinks peanut butter and bananas is weird (I can forgive his for this one).  

All this is to say that I think he’s a pretty great man and we’re totally going to be BFFs by the end of summer.

2 thoughts on “it’s a jolly holiday with Howard.

    • It was my first convertible ride ever! I’m not sure if he’s the original or not…I don’t think he is. I’ll ask and get some more history on his cars. Of course I’ll take pictures!

Leave a Reply

