ring by spring.

Holy buckets.  Where to begin.  It seems like this semester has been filled with relationships.

Lately it seems like everyone and their brother is in a relationship…but not with their brother.  That’s frowned upon in most societies.  I don’t know if it’s spring fever or what, but the blooming of new life coincides with the blossoming of new relationships.  Which as fine and dandy.  I’m happy for you, but that doesn’t make it any easier for the rest of us out here.  It’s actually quite frustrating.  I am not a huge fan of the scent of flowers but when you  add the  fact that love is in the air, it’s intoxicating.

Have y’all heard of “ring by spring?”  What about MRS degree?”  Those are very real things in the Christian community.  Especially at Bible Colleges.  It seems like the sole purpose for some girls attending college is to find a man.  They spend thousands of dollars for a matchmaking process that may or may not pan out.  Dumb.  I may not go to a Christian school, but I’m friends with several people that do and I know it’s on their mind.  That’s a lot of pressure to deal with on top of school, sports, and having a platonic social life.

I didn’t mean for this post to come across as uber cynical…actually, lets be honest.  I did.  I can’t help it.  I have several friends getting married, engaged and entering relationships…might I add that many of them are younger than me?  Yep.  That makes me feel real good about life.  And to add to it, I come home for school breaks and I am asked two questions.  “How’s school going?”  Have you got a boyfriend back there that I should know about?”  Not really the warm welcome that I was hoping for.  It’s nice to see you too.

I get that people think relationships make the world go round but they don’t…well they do but we won’t get into that.  They are hard and challenging and can offer a lot of joy but let’s be real here people.  Boys are beyond confusing and don’t even get me started on girls.  I can hardly take care of myself spiritually, mentally, and physically.  I don’t know that adding a sigfig will help any college student out much.

I know I’m not alone out there.  I’m sure I can easily find 15 other singles out there frustrated and confused with life and relationships right now.  With the questions. raised eyebrows while talking to a friend of the opposite sex.  Suggestive glances from onlookers.  Third party involvement.  The media.  Nicholas Sparks.  And dare I say my men, Michael Buble and Forrest Gump.

I enjoy relationships and weddings and old couple that have stood the test of time. Seeing people on dates and laughing, dancing, and smiling.  It’s all wonderful but that doesn’t make it any easier to be patient and trusting.

That’s all I have to say ‘bout that.

One thought on “ring by spring.

  1. This pretty much describes how I feel about pregnancy and birth announcements. You wouldn’t often think of singleness and childless-ness being similar, but I find that it really is. Both are a longing for that person who will fill that specific void in your heart.

Leave a Reply

