Jesus: the chupacabra slayer.

I realize Halloween is over but a message was shared over it Thursday in chapel and I would Iike to pass my take away from it on to y’all.

As we all know, the world is not always rainbows and butterflies. There are spiders and snakes. Car wrecks and taxes. Twerking and pedostaches. The world is full of darkness and it just so happens to come crawling out of every corner and crack on Halloween.

I never celebrated tnhis “holiday” growing up and I am thankful for that. Yeah, there were times I was jealous I didn’t get to dress as my favorite character or eat a bunch of candy, but I appreciate my parents discretion to shelter me from joining the dark side on October 31.

Anyway, back to the point of this post, the world is dark and when we make what we consider an irreconcilable mistake, we can fall into this state of darkness. A state of depression and sadness. I don’t know about you, but I’m afraid of the dark to some extent. I could be perfectly content with the lights on but as soon as they shut off, it’s like my mind goes crazy and imagines every killer or chupacabra in town is out to get me. Yeah, i realize that sounds ridiculous and I’m twenty years old. I shouldn’t think these things but that’s the world we live in. The media has put these images in my head. It’s dark and scary and turns me into a little kid again.

Christ came to be a light for us. He shows us the way and wants to be the light to guide us past the darkness. To get us through those hard times. To bring us to safety. Of our minds, surroundings and hearts.

Sometimes we don’t realize we’re lost. We don’t see that our situation sucks and we need to run. We need to remove ourselves from certain people or places before it’s too late. Maybe we’re blinded by rainbows or love. Our comfort or emotions refuse to let us assess the situation. Or we stamp our foot like a little toddler and internally scream, “no, I don’t want to change!” We can’t see that our circumstances are hurting us. Good news. Jesus wants to remove those dirty, cloudy contacts you have in to show you a whole new world…help you see clearly now the crap is gone. He is your clear eyes for dry eyes spokesperson.

Bottom line: Jesus wants to show you the beautiful sunrise before the darkest dawn. Open your freakin eyes and enjoy it because it’s breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

