From Dalai Lama to Death Row

“If grace were a wheat field, He has bequeathed you the state of Kansas.”

You’re probably going to hear this quote quite often because it means so much to me. I read Max Lucado’s book, GRACE last fall and it was like a heavenly hug to my broken heart. It was filled with words to comfort and challenge for me. I had to assess my situation and think about things I’ve never thought of before. It was what I needed to read and I would encourage all of you to take a look at it.

This quote was just one of many that stuck out to me, not only that, but It grabbed my heart and hasn’t let go. I often repeat it to myself when I have spare time, not really on purpose but it’s just so eloquent and meaningful that it always seems to be with me. Humor me and let’s break it down now y’all.

Do you know how much wheat is in Kansas? A whole awful lot, that’s how much. It’s like the Duggars and kids or India and cows…and India has A LOT of cows. Guess what …God’s grace doesn’t even compare. It abounds so much greater than we can even fathom and he did what with it? He bequeathed it to us. First off, what a fabulous word. Secondly, it means to give, to will over, to entrust, to bestow. He gave it freely, willingly, unsparingly, copiously and abundantly. He didn’t give it only to his favorites. He gave it to the prodigal, the poor, the proud, the political, the profane, and the promiscuous. He has given his grace to the likes of the Dalai Lama and those on death row. It doesn’t matter who you are or what you may or may not have done. He loves you and has offered you His grace and forgiveness. The question now is are you going to accept it or will you keep fighting it and pushing him away?

I had someone explain it to me like this. You’re driving through town and blow through a photo enforced red-light. Maybe you couldn’t stop in time, maybe you were on a joy ride and just didn’t care. Either way, you have a ticket on its way to your house with your name, a picture and a date. You’ve been caught red handed and now you have to see a judge. Yippee. Well, your court date shows up and as you stand in front of the judge, you’re just waiting for it. How much are you going to have to pay for that mistake? If it’s a one-time deal, it may be $150, but if it’s an occurring offense it may be your license or a trip to jail. He shuffles some papers, scans them, looks up at you, and back down to the stack…he takes a deep breath and you hold yours as you wait for the verdict. Here it comes…”you’re free to go.” “Uh, ex-excuse me?” “That’s right, you’re free to go ma’am. You’re ticket has been waived.” You walk away dumbfounded. You don’t fight it but take the man’s gracious offer of a second chance.

Do you see where I’m going with this? This is a picture of grace. This is what God is trying to offer you. If you’re smart, you’ll take it and run. You’ll gratefully accept the gift and try not to make that same mistake twice. And even if you do, he’ll be there to offer you a hand up and a gentle push forward because that’s the kind of guy he is. So, what do you say? Are you going to let him help you?

Leave a Reply

