Bugs, Death and Taxes

ImageA couple days ago, I asked the question, “is everything innately beautiful or is beauty in the eye of the beholder?”  It was initially brought up this summer on the way back to camp and I haven’t stopped thinking about it.  It’s a difficult question.  How is one supposed to answer it positively in a world of bugs, death and taxes?

I wanted to answer with no, but the more I think about it, the more I gladly say yes.  I’m pretty sure the first thing I thought about was spiders.  They’re creepy, crawling animals with eight little legs that torment you.  How could anyone think they are beautiful…but then I thought about it.  They truly are.  I may not enjoy hanging out with spiders, but if I think about their role on earth, I’m thankful for them.  Yes, I do kill them and channel my inner Raphael when I walk through a web, but I do think they are cool creatures from a distance.

First off, the way spiders work is pretty amazing.  The webs they spin are gorgeous, especially when the light hits the morning dew resting on them, it glistens gloriously.  The fact that they trap their prey is strategic and stealthy.  The females are BA.  Walking with 8 legs takes talent.  I have trouble with two sometimes.  The last thing I have to say about these arachnids is they are helpful.  They kill bugs.  It sounds like such a simple thing, heck, I kill bugs too and I’m not creepy.  Well, spiders may not be able to take out Peter Rabbit, but they can help with the little bugs eating through your garden.  As much as you may hate them, they work to keep your garden healthy, which in turn makes your tummy happy when it comes time to harvest.

I’m sure I won’t change anyone’s mind on these creatures, but I just wanted to share some insight and get you to think positively before they start coming out of the woodwork with the nice weather.  Also, before you run away screaming “that giant spider almost killed me!” rest assured that you are waaaay too big, and strong to be eaten by a spider.  Have a great day! 😉

Leave a Reply

