I get by with a little help from my friends

Hey friends!  

I would love to hear your opinion on something I’ve been thinking about for the past nine months.  It’s not a hard question, but it does require some thought.  It may make you step outside yo’self and think about things in a different way.  If so, that’s fantastic!  If not, that’s cool too.  

I plan to post on this particular subject at least a couple different times because I find it fascinating.  As much as I love to read my own work (please note the sarcasm), I want to hear from you.  comment.  facebook.  email.  twitter.  stop me on the street.  write it down, fold it up and pass it to me old school style.  I don’t really care, I just want some outside input and to see what you are thinking in that brain of yours.  

With that being said, here is the deal.  Last summer, my friend posed the question, “Is everything innately beautiful, or is beauty in the eyes of the beholder?”  What are your thoughts, opinions, feelings, ramblings, whatever on this subject?  

5 thoughts on “I get by with a little help from my friends

  1. I know that the Bible says certain things are beautiful, like “worship the Lord in the BEAUTY of holiness,” or “rather let it [a woman’s adornment] be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible BEAUTY of a gentle and quiet spirit…” That seems to indicate that there are some things that are definitely beautiful–their beauty is objective. This is a really challenging question…

    • Ruth, It is a challenging question! I’ve been struggling with it for a long time. I think God says all things are beautiful, so they must be, but sometimes I have a hard time believing it. I think it’s one of those hard things that we may not understand. God sees the whole picture of how things will work out and we only have a limited view. He created everything and said it was good, but it’s just difficult to believe that bugs are good sometimes!

  2. Pingback: Bugs, Death and Taxes | the fabric of my life.

  3. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I encourage you to pick some of the most widely accepted things that one would consider beautiful. Whether it be sunrises, sunsets, child birth, or flowers, you name it, and i’m sure there is someone who has an appreciation for it. BUT the other side of that means that for every seemingly flawless object/action there is almost a guarantee that someone will fail to see the beauty that you or I may experience. For an object to hold innate beauty, it would have to be perceived as beautiful by every living thing that senses it. As for EVERYTHING holding innate beauty? Well please tell me what good the bugs (mosquitos) do for this planet and i’d be glad to re-think my opinions. This may be more scientific than you were hoping for, but when asked the question, it was my immediate response. I enjoy your writing, keep up the good work.

    • I appreciate your feedback and reasoning. Your response was not too scientific at all. Actually, bugs were the first thing that came to my mind when I was originally asked the question https://hannahzimmerman.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/bugs-death-and-taxes/

      I get what you’re saying and it makes perfect sense to me. To me, innate beauty means that God created everything to be beautiful which I believe is true. I completely agree with the fact that not everyone will see things as beautiful though. We’re humans. I think it’s in our nature after the fall of Adam and Eve. I guess I think we need strive to find the good or purpose of that thing, for it to become beautiful. It all comes down to your perception. If you look at a mosquito as a blood-sucking pest, you won’t see it as beautiful. If you view it in the predator-prey spectrum, you may find it beautiful. humans eat catfish. catfish eat mosquitoes. mosquitoes suck blood. It’s one vicious cycle. We all feed on each other to nourish our bodies. Maybe I’m an exception, but I think the fact that we need each other to survive is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

