The Pineapple Project

Tumblr_mhgj9farnf1rsatl8o1_500

February starts in less than two days!!!  Do you know what that means?  Facebook Free February is back in business!  Huzzah!  To be honest, I haven’t thought much about it until a few days ago.  It’s not as big a deal to me as it was last year, but I’m still going to do it.  It was a great idea.  It is beneficial.  It is meaningful and it can be redemptive if used properly and intentially.  

As I was trying to come up with a plan to redeem my extra time this year, I decided I wanted a project.  Something big instead of a bunch of unrelated little things to do. Last year, I planted a pineapple, among other things, and that seems to be the biggest thing I took away from F3.  It sort of defined my time away from Facebook.  I’m not saying that the other stuff I did wasn’t good, but this pineapple has been an on-going project. It takes work and attention.  It requires me to stop thinking about myself for a couple of minutes each day and water it or trim the leaves.  It serves as a reminder to me…of why I did F3 in the first place and of the many projects I completed in the 29 days.   

 A simple half-joking goal of growing a pineapple has turned into this grand idea of a month-long project to benefit others. 

I want to take the excess in my life and put it to good use.  I want to give back.  I want to serve people in someway.  I want my time offline to be redemptive.  The bottom line is that I want to think about others.  I have been in my own little world, focusing on myself, the past year and I need it to stop.  I have been blessed with so many things that I take for granted and I want to stop being so selfish and bless others.  

I’m not really sure what this Pineapple Project will look like for this year.  It could have the potential to work on a project for two years until my pineapple grows.  Once that lil’ guy is harvested, then I’ll plant the top again and pick a new project.  I’m not real sure.  We’ll just have to see how it goes I guess.  I’m pretty flexible with this whole idea.  

With that being said, I would love it if you joined me this next month.  I don’t want this project to be intimidating.  It can be as simple as keeping a journal the next 28 days for your sponsor child filled with little notes and pictures letting them know that you are thinking about them.  Or, it can be as big as making dresses for little girls in Haiti.  It’s up to you.  It’s your project.  Whatever God is laying on your heart, do it.  

I have a couple ideas but I haven’t chosen a definitive project yet.  I will keep you updated though, I promise.  If there is something that you’re considering or you have ideas/comments for the project, I’d LOVE to hear your thoughts.    

Leave a Reply

