a dysfunctional dynasty

So, I’ve been thinking about writing this post since June, but never got around to it.  But since I’m on break and Christmas is only a couple days away, I figured now is the perfect time.  I’m also going to throw this thing out there in three parts.  I waited six months to post it, it should be good right?  I sure hope so.  I have a lot to say and I realize that long posts aren’t the most appealing. So, to make it more enjoyable to read, I’ll break it up.  

Anyway, this summer, I started reading through the Gospels.  The first day was real encouraging, which was somewhat surprising to me considering I started out with what I thought would be a boring genealogy.  I made a discovery that I should have years ago, but I think it’s great and amazing, so I want to share it with you.  Here it is.  You may not get as much out of it, but I hope it does a little something for ya.

You know those geneaologies that we always skip over because we can’t pronounce the list of names that makes for one huge run on sentence?  Yeah.  DON’T DO THAT ANYMORE!!!  I was reading Matthew 1 in the morning one day and ya know how your brain isn’t at full functioning capacity at 7AM?  Well, it took me a couple times through this chapter to realize what it was saying and the significance that it had in my life.  Each time I read it, I got more and more excited and amazed at this Heavenly Father that we worship.  

I could pronounce most of these names.  I even recognized a couple and was able to remember their stories. BONUS!!  You may think it was a little thing, but it’s not.  God made Jesus the descendent of murderers and harlots and liars.  Think about it.  Jesus, the King of Kings, our Savior, God’s perfect son, came from this?  I must be mistaken?  Or Matthew had a little too much wine in his system when he wrote this.  no.  that’s dumb.  this is God’s word.  not Matthew’s.  It’s not screwed up and he wasn’t drunk when he wrote it.  God knew exactly what he was doing when he placed Jesus in this family.  He used this lineage in a powerful way back then and it still has the same effect on people.  I’m serious.  I read this like three times to make sure I understood it correctly.  It’s kind of a big deal.  

Let’s start with the most obvious.  King David.  He was a great king and God even calls him a man after His own heart.  That’s huge!  David committed adultery with Uriah’s wife, Bathsheba.  He then lied about it and killed Uriah.  hmm..not something you would expect in God’s geneaology.  Next up is Rahab.  She was the lady that helped the two spies escape safely from Jericho.  She was also a prostitute.  also, not something you would expect Jesus to follow.  He also came from a line of some not so great kings of Judah.  That sounds promising considering he’s supposed to be the King of Kings…  Well, obviously it turned out alright and Jesus didn’t follow in his earthly ancestor’s footsteps.  

Anyway, the point of this post is to say that it amazes me that Christ came from this family.  It screams disfunctional.  His family obvioiusly wasn’t perfect and that’s cool because God used that to glorify himself.  I just think it’s cool that Jesus, this perfect little kid, came to earth and joined this family full of not-so-perfect people.

Check out Andrew Peterson’s song, Matthew Begats.  It’s great.  There’s even a banjo!!!

19_Matthew’s_Begats_(LIVE).m4a
Listen on Posterous

Other sources:

http://pastormark.tv/2012/12/04/jesus-welcomes-you-into-the-family-sermon-recap

http://www.crosswalk.com/11641762/

 

Leave a Reply

