keep it simple.

Hey y’all.  It’s Thanksgiving.  I hope you had a great day filled with traditions, family, food and maybe some football thrown in there somewhere. 

If you know me very well at all, you’ll know that I’m not a huge fan of this holiday.  It’s not that I don’t want to be thankful for things, because I am.  I just have some issues with it, I guess.  Just like I have some issues with Christmas.

I’m a pretty simple gal if you ask me.  Simple style, simple food, simple tastes.  I don’t think we need to make things real elaborate.  But that’s not the case during the holidays and it drives me crazy.  The idea of a day to celebrate thankfulness or the birth of a little baby shouldn’t require cleaning for days and cooking for hours.  In my mind, Thanksgiving and Christmas are pretty plain and simple holidays and concepts.

Both of them involve families, as dysfunctional as they can be, getting together and spending time with each other.  They both involve a big meal for most families.  And they both involve some sort of tradition, whether that is watching the Charlie Brown TV specials, football, parades, or opening presents.  These holidays have three simple concepts: family, food and traditions. 

You don’t have to agree with me, but I feel like the ideas behind these holidays are getting overshadowed by other things.  Scrubbing your floors until they shine, slaving over a hot stove for hours, and shopping for the perfect gift just doesn’t really sound like a celebration to me.  Your family shouldn’t care about seeing their reflection in your floors or eating the most delicious food known to mankind.  I bet they don’t even remember what you gave them for Christmas last year…  Ask them.  I dare you.  Those aren’t the things that stick with them.  They probably think about crazy memories that were made.  The food is the same this year that it was last.  The cleanliness of your house isn’t going to keep someone away from the free food that you’re offering.  The fact that you spent three hours waiting in line at 3 in the morning or dropped some bows in the middle of Wal-Mart for a gift doesn’t matter.  I’m sure they are grateful, but if you didn’t do that, they wouldn’t have dropped you like a bad habit.  They would still love you.  I promise!

Listen to Marcie,  “But Thanksgiving is more than eating, Chuck. You heard what Linus was saying out there. Those early Pilgrims were thankful for what had happened to them, and we should be thankful, too. We should just be thankful for being together. I think that’s what they mean by ‘Thanksgiving,’ Charlie Brown.” 

I get that Thanksgiving is over and it’s a little late to do anything now, but just think about what’ I’m saying.  Think about the basic concept of the holidays that you celebrate year after year.  Generally, there is a central idea behind it and a whole bunch of crap that the media and society feel the need to add to it.  Focus on that main idea.  Don’t let the idea of the “perfect holiday” get the best of you.  Keep it simple.  It doesn’t have to be boring.  It won’t be.  But don’t kill yourself cleaning, cooking and shopping just to impress these people who really don’t care about that stuff.  I promise, your celebration can be just as good as Martha Stewart’s…and much less stressful.  

 

Leave a Reply

