I never thought I would say this…

1950s-housewife

I’m pretty sure my mom is going to keel over when she reads this…I kinda sorta enjoy cleaning.  I never ever would have declared this statement before this year.  I thought it was the worst thing ever.  Now, not so much, but there are some clarifications that need to be made to make this statement accurate.  

1. I have to want to clean.  You can force me, but I won’t enjoy it and you’ll probably know.  There is a certain time when cleaning is something I choose to do.  For instance, if I can’t function because my room is too messy or the bathroom is disgusting, then I will clean because I have to. 

2. There are certain days when cleaning is necessary.  for my sanity and those around me.  It’s a stress reliever.  It’s relaxing.  I can let go of any pent up frustration when I clean and I‘m real thankful for that.

3.  Cleaning and organizing are VERY different.  I love to organize.  Cleaning falls below that on the enjoyment scale though.

4.  I have to be able to wash my hands.  If this can’t happen, there’s no way that I can do it.  It grosses me out and I can only handle so much.  As long as I know I can get clean after cleaning, then I’m OK with getting a little dirty and shelling out some elbow grease.

My room….

At home?  gross and a mess. 

At school?  wonderfully organized and mostly clean.  Yes Mom, I can see the floor and walk without stepping over things.  And it’s not just when I clean either!  I do this everyday!!!  It’s kind of a big deal for me.

Dishes….I really enjoy doing the dishes.  It’s relaxing.  It isn’t as terrible as I always made it out to be at home.  It’s not bad at all.  It can be kind of gross sometimes, but that’s understandable.  After scraping hundreds of dishes at camp, doing dishes daily is no big thang anymore.  

Vacuuming….eh.  I still don’t enjoy this that much.  That contraption is so stinkin’ loud!  I’m always relieved when I can turn it off and hear myself think again.  

Sweeping/Mopping….I still feel the same way about these.  I don’t love them but I don’t complain about them anymore.  

Bathroom….Well, I have mixed feeling about this one.  After cleaning bathrooms at camp, CCH and my own, I can say that it’s not as terrible as I always made it out to be.  I have a routine for the CCH bathrooms and everything goes well and it’s not bad.  My own bathroom on the other hand, is a different story.  It’s gross and I do not enjoy it at all.  I share it with another girl and it can get pretty nasty within two weeks.  Let’s just say that after cleaning it last week, I am thoroughly convinced that the world would be a much better place if everyone was bald.  There would be no hair to clean out of the drains or off the floor.  It would be great!  Cleaner…yes.   More attractive…definitely not.

Kitchen….This really isn’t that bad.  It seems like I clean a little bit each time I use it so there isn’t much to do on cleaning days.  If I spill something, I’ll clean it up and wipe the rest of the counter with it.  It’s not that big of a deal.  The microwave?  now that’s a whole ‘nother ballgame.

Normally, I wouldn’t write about something like this, but as I’ve been cleaning over the past several weeks, I’ve realized that my thinking on the task has changed drastically since camp this summer and since I moved into a house with three other people.  I’m growing up!  J

Sidenote…. If you ever need to clean your drying rack for dishes, don’t.  Trust me.  It’s not worth the hassle and disgust that you will feel afterward.  Just go buy a new one.  I promise.  It’s gross and a pain in the butt to try to clean.  I tried to clean ours today and it was dreadful.  Spend the money for goodness sakes! 

Leave a Reply

