Dancin’ to the YMCA

I’m not going to lie to y’all (great way to start off a post eh?), I’ve been dreading this post (also pretty comforting).  It’s not that I don’t want to share my experience with you, it’s just that I don’t know how.  I’ve had a really tough time getting my thoughts down on paper.  I had a wonderful time and experience in Haiti, but I don’t feel like writing about it does it justice.  At all.  I’ve struggled with how to go about this for three weeks now and I still don’t have it figured out.  

            I feel as though this trip had gotten a bad rap with some people.  As I explained what we would be doing, some people seemed really excited and others were left still desiring something more for the trip.  This was not your conventional mission trip, but that’s why I like it.  We aren’t going over to build houses, we’re going to Haiti to build relationships.  Really? Relationships?  What’s the point?  Well, I like to think that people will listen and respond better if they have a decent relationship with the person sharing with them.  

            Many of the Haitians had probably seen a white person before with the Earthquake relief effort, but seeing someone and interacting with them is a completely different ballgame.  That was our mindset going into this trip.  If we spend time with the people of Bwadom, a mountain village, we can continue the relationship and help them in more ways than one.  Not only can we share supplies and clothes with them, but we can also share God’s love and His word.  And I believe we did just that.

            So, with that being said, no, we didn’t just sit and talk to the village people.  We sang and danced the YMCA of course!!!!  I’m just kidding, I couldn’t help that one though 😉  We played with and loved on the children.  We blessed them with clothing, Bibles, food and supplies to build a church, and last but definitely not least, GOATS!!!!!  

            We are hoping to stimulate the economy with the goats and the church building will fulfill a couple needs in the village.  The building supplies will be used to construct a new church/school building.  It will also collect rainwater in a cistern which they will be able to drink and cook with.  You may be wondering why didn’t we just go up and build the church for them?  Well, for us to do that would be to take away at least 8 jobs from Haitians that need them.  We want to help them, remember? 

So, yeah, I guess I don’t know what else to tell you guys.  Haiti has its highs and lows.  It breaks my heart to see the kids walking around without shoes and clothes that fit them well.  It breaks my heart to know that we waste so much clean water every day when these people don’t even have access to it.  And it breaks my heart to know that many of these people haven’t heard of Jesus Christ and how much he loves them.  With that being said, no, I didn’t come back home and start a diet or get rid of half my clothes because the Haitians can’t afford what I have.  I didn’t stop showering or washing my hands because it’s a waste of good water.  I didn’t change my life drastically and that may make me sound like a horrible person, but I did change one thing.  I started praying for the Haitian people.  I am more aware of their needs now and I can ask God to help them in specific ways.  I don’t know how much I can do alone to help these people, but with God’s help, anything is possible. 

20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. 21 Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever!  Amen.”  Ephesians 3:20-21

So, I will continue to pray for the Haitians and until I can return to Haiti, I will do what I can to raise awareness and money to help them.  I would like to ask that you help me with this effort.  If you want to know more about Haiti or the projects to raise money for Haiti, let me know and I’ll try to share some more information with you. 

541308_10151725360525080_615443622_n
547794_10150945348201096_762039131_n
540665_428558100497081_462274976_n
389231_10150945348276096_1589000934_n
538808_10150945348441096_1252894696_n
485649_10151725398300080_1630470244_n
549190_10151725347215080_1275841363_n
555380_10150961329077667_86598590_n
6 thoughts on “Dancin’ to the YMCA

  1. Hannah,As usual, you CRUSH it with this post. Thanks so much for struggling to put your thoughts down and out there for everyone to see. You’re an artist.PS: Nice work with the 7 most powerful words on prayer! 😉

Leave a Reply

