Help for Haiti

Dear Friends and Family,

 

                Since coming to Northwest Missouri State University, I have been involved in a campus ministry called the Christian Campus House (CCH).  I am a part of the leadership team and am involved in a few small groups, building great relationships with some amazing people.  I feel like I have learned a lot about myself and grown in my relationship with God this semester and I am so thankful for that.  An opportunity for a mission trip to Haiti has come up this semester and I would love to be a part of that team, but I cannot do it without some help.  In May, I will be going on my first mission trip to a mountain village in Haiti.  I know it will be a life changing trip and I would love for you to be a part of this experience for me. 

                Let me tell you a little background information about the trip before I explain how you can help me.  Why Haiti you may ask?  Well, we have a professor here that works with House of Hope Haiti, an orphanage for villages of mountain people and earthquake victims.  CCH has worked closely with him the past few years to raise money for projects to give the Haitian people clean water and last year, a few people from CCH made the trip to Haiti to help with these projects and see how their contributions are being used.  They fell in love with the country and the mountain people in particular.  The Haitians are very poor people with many needs, physically and spiritually. 

                Unlike other mission trips, we will not be building houses or doing the work for them.  We will be doing three things in particular:      

1.       Bringing them supplies to build a school/ church building that will also be able to harvest fresh water for them to drink and use. 

2.       Giving them Bibles in their native language, Haitian-Creole.

3.       Giving every family with children at the school two goats.  One for them to sell and use the profits to pay the salary of the teacher and the other is for their personal use to fulfill their family’s needs. 

With these objectives, we hope to help the Haitians become self-sufficient.  Often times, mission teams go out to help these people, but in reality, they do the work for them and the natives depend on them.  We want to help them by teaching these people the skills needed to strengthen their community and live sustainably. 

Ok, here’s the part you’ve been waiting for!  I’m asking for your support in just two ways.  They are equally important and I would appreciate either one from you.  The first way is through prayer.  If you could pray for my team, the Haitian people and myself leading up to the trip as well as while we are there, that would be wonderful.  I’m sure you can’t guess the other way to support me.  Yep, it’s monetary support.  I understand that times are tough and money is tight, but if you could donate anything at all to this trip for me, I would really appreciate it.  Any little bit helps me because I have to raise $1200 in order to go this spring. 

There are two ways to give:

1.        Securely online at http:cscea.donortools.com by selecting my name from the list.

2.       Sending a check with my name in the memo line to:

The ChristianCampus House. 

 904 College Avenue

Maryville, MO 64468

               The trip is from May 9-16 and I am so thankful for anyway you choose to support me.  If you chose to support me in any way, let me know and I will send you a follow-up letter after the trip to share my experience with you.  Thank you so much for your love and support in this journey and I am very blessed to have people  like you in my life.

 

Sincerely,

Hannah Zimmerman

Leave a Reply

