Facebook Free February!

 Holy buckets! Why would anyone ever suggest such a crazy thing! I can’t live with out my Facebook!

Think about the previous statement. Wow, it’s like a small piece of each of us died just by reading about such an abominable alliteration. Is that really true? Would You

be able to do it? 29 days without Facebook.  Think about it for a second.   

I’m here to tell you that it is possible and dare I say enjoyable. INCONCEIVABLE!!!  How dare I?! I just said life without Facebook is…GULP…actually pleasant.  Yeah I went there. 

I gave up Facebook for the month of January, not as a resolution, but as a way to straighten out my priorities.  I spent WAY too much time on the contraption and I decided taking a break from it would be good for the heart and soul.  Literally.  I wasn’t happy with where I was in life or in my relationship with the Lord.  I wanted to change and I couldn’t do that if I spent all my time on Facebook. 

2012 has started off wonderfully for me and I believe that is because I have realized what’s important to me: spending time in God’s Word, in prayer, and in actual healthy relationships with friends that I can sit down and talk to in person.  This has been a great experience for me and I would love for you to join me in this adventure for the month of February.  So, here is my challenge to you; deactivate your Facebook for 29 days and replace that time with something productive and of value. 

Here’s my little rant on Facebook.  I hope it makes you think about how much we rely on Facebook and how much time it consumes everyday. 

 

Facebook sucks up a lot of time for many of us, and in a way, we are addicted. What’s the first think you do when you get on your computer or look at your phone? For most of us, the answer would be to check Facebook to see if we have any new notifications. Our priorities are all sorts of screwed up! Facebook should be the least of our worries. Do you update your status before praying, reading a devotional, or spending time in God’s Word?

Don’t get me wrong, Facebook is a wonderful device and I don’t hate it, I just think people need to realize they spend an obscene amount of time on it. Facebook opens up a world of great things when it comes to communication and connecting with people, but it also opens up a world of sinfulness and temptation. It may be looking at the opposite sex with lust, being involved in gossip, or judging people, but either way, it’s sin and Facebook is just one more feeding ground for that.

 

Matthew 5:29-30

            “If your right eye causes you to sin, pluck it out and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell. 30 And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell.”

 

Matthew 6:22-23

            “The lamp of the body is the eye. If therefore your eye is good, your whole body will be full of light. 23 But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in you is darkness, how great is that darkness.”

 

Matthew 6:19-21

            “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

The things of this earth don’t matter in the long run. Stop spending so much time and energy on worldly things and look to God for fulfillment and happiness.

 

Matthew 12:36-37

            “But I say to you, for every idle word men may speak, they will give an account of it in the day of judgment. 37 For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

 

It’s so easy to say or think harmful words on Facebook. You aren’t talking to your friends in person, so it’s ten times easier to say something online that you would never say to their face. You can say what’s really on your mind and how you really feel about certain things without being directly reprimanded. It’s easy to judge people on Facebook as well as gossip about them.

You can creep on someone without them ever knowing and thanks to the new “creeper- feed” on the right side of the screen, it’s so convenient. You don’t even have to leave the home page to creep. How wonderful right? No! The new timeline profile doesn’t help matters much either. If you really wanted to, Mark Zuckerburg has made someone’s Facebook life easily accessible. You can see everything from what they did two minutes ago to what they were thinking 3 years ago. People change drastically in three years. Why in the world would you want people to see that information?

We are so involved in all of these people’s lives, but we are neglecting the one person that should matter most to us…God! Out of the 743 “friends” you have, how many do you actually talk to? Do you have a true friendship with them, or did you add them just for the sake of creeping on them?

Do you ever go about your day and say to yourself, “this would make a great status! I bet I could get a bunch of people to like it.” Have you ever seriously thought about how much time you devote to Facebook? How many times do you open your Facebook in a day? How many times open your Bible or spend time talking to God?

In order for Facebook-free February to be a success, you have to be committed. Fill your extra time slot with something of value. Read a book, a devotional or the Bible. Meet with some friends for coffee, pick up a new hobby, go running! Whatever it is, make it productive and worthwhile because if you don’t fill that time with anything, you’ll be bored out of your mind and it will be more tempting to get right back on Facebook.

I won’t lie, the first week was really hard, the second week was a little easier, but still very tempting. You’ll realize just how much time you spend online in the first place. You’ll also be very tempted to check it, but don’t, because I promise it will be worth it in the end. If your experience is anything like mine, you’ll learn a lot about yourself and your relationship with God will be strengthened. I think you will be thankful for the experience after it’s all said and done. Even if you don’t last the whole month, you will still probably be grateful for the extra time you spent with the Lord or doing whatever you wanted to. Facebook-free February will be beneficial to you, but only if you are willing to put in the effort.

 

I will let y’all know how my experience turns out in 6 days.  I have learned a lot about the Bible and myself and I can’t wait to share it with you.  Please seriously consider Facebook free February.  It may change your life!  A little dramatic…maybe…but it could very well happen. 

 

Facebook_by_antie1

 

Leave a Reply

